On Thursday 15th November, Mr James Jenkinson and Mr Vaughan Matheson took a group of 9 keen Touch Rugby players to Timaru for the Junior Aoraki Touch Tournament. The team included: Caleb Ward, Thomas Patterson, Aidan Bennett, Pasi Hala, Charlie Gailbraith, Malachi Drye, William Joyce, George Penjueli, Laurence Van Zeyl-Hemara.

The day started a little slippery underfoot and despite the Ashburton College Junior Boys' team being the only ones without rugby boots on, they sill managed to come away with three very convincing wins; two of which got in to the double digits for Ashcoll. As the day wore on, with only three reserves the boys went down to Timaru Boys (winners of the comp) and Waitaki Boys (second place), who both had 15 player squads and some excellent strategies. Overall, the Ashcoll team placed third at the highly competitive event and did the College proud. 

All of the Ashcoll players personified fair play and were an absolute delight to take away for the event. 

Aoraki Jnr TouchTeam Photo 640x427

Aoraki Junior Touch 640x427


Ashburton College, 27 Walnut Avenue, Ashburton, 7700, New Zealand

P.O. Box 204, Ashburton, 7740

Telephone: +64 3 308-4193 | Facsimile: +64 3 308-2104


 fb icon  yt icon


User Menu