Sporting and Cultural Achievements

Aoarki Sports Awards 2018

Basketball Winner  - Sophie Adams

Rugby Winner - Elama Touli

2018 National Honours Winners

Lara Biggs, Aidan Elvines, Mollie Gibson, Harriet Leverton, Emma Stagg, Lanelle Millar-McArthur, Shania Harrison-Lee, Emma Smith, Blake Farr, Kyle Cabangun, Taylah Burrowes, Taonga Mbambo, Sophie Adams, Isbella Roulston, Brittany Fowler, Harriet Stock & Matthew Clough

The above have attained National Honours int he past sporting year and will receive a National Honours Badge. To qualify for this award the nominated student must have either been selected into NZ team or have been placed 1st, 2nd or 3rd at the National Championships in their sporting code.

Also a congradulations those who made it as a finalist in their sporting code:-

Athletics - Taonga Mbambo, Basketball - Riley Sa, Equestrian - Brittany Fowler,  Snowsport - Will Kelly, Swimmning - Blake Farr, Outstanding Referee - Summer Anderson, Outstanding Coach - Grant Elvines (Girls 1st XV), All Rounder - Taonga Mbambo, Aoraki Female Sportsperson of the Year - Lanelle Millar-McArthur & Mollie Gibson, Team of the Year - Smallbore Team Lanelle Millar-McArthur, Emma Smith, Shania Harrison-Lee, Aoraki Male Sportsperson of the Year - Taonga Mbambo & Matt Clough, Community & Staff Contribution - Andrew Shepherd


Aoraki Sports Awards Awards 2018 - Athlete with a Disability - Delta Taeauga


Aoraki Sports Awards 2018 - Single Finalist for Smallbore - Lanelle Millar-McArthur & Single Finalist for Kayaking - Matthew Clough


Aoraki Sports Awards Awards 2018 - Single Finalist for Cycling - Isabella Roulston


Aoraki Sports Awards 2018 - Rowing - Mollie Gibson


Aoraki Sports Awards Awards 2018 - Multisport & All Rounder - Matthew Clough


Aoraki Sports Awards 2018 - Martial Arts (Male) - Kyle Cabangun


Aoraki Sports Awards Awards 2018 - Martial Arts (Female) - Taylah Burrowes


Aoraki Sports Awards 2018 - Cross Country - Taonga Mbambo


Aoraki Sports Awards Awards 2018 - Equestrian - Harriet Stock


2018 U19 Cross Triathlon and Aquathon Events - Denmark

Mathew Clough - Winner of a Silver Medal in both events.


2018 Cycling NZ Champ

Maddi Lowry  - winner of the Cycling NZ Schools Under 15 Girls South Island Road Championships


2018 Cross Country Achievement

Taonga Mbambo placed 6th in the Senior Boys section at the National Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships in Taupo.

He has been named in the New Zealand team to compete in Australia in a couple of months time. Taonga also competed in the Canterbury Relay team which placed 2nd.

He was also the top placed South Island runner.

2018 Australia Cross Country Championships

Taonga placed 12th in the 16/17 6km Race - was the 3rd New Zealander home in a time of 21 minutes.

The NZ Team finished 3rd overall.


Ashburton College, 27 Walnut Avenue, Ashburton, 7700, New Zealand

P.O. Box 204, Ashburton, 7740

Telephone: +64 3 308-4193 | Facsimile: +64 3 308-2104


 fb icon  yt icon


User Menu